7 Things You Should Know Before You Become a Writer

I never really knew that I wanted to become a writer. It kind of snuck up on me. I’ve always loved books and reading, and I would imagine what I would do differently, which characters I would create. After I graduated, I kept trying to submit some of my writing to online publications, but I was too lazy to complete the assignment (I suck) or I was too scared to try. When this opportunity with Delish came about, it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, but I’m know realizing that it’s what I needed to move my career in the right direction. I am not some accomplished author trying to give advice to the *little people*, I’m just a young writer who wants to share what she’s learned in her short but interesting journey. Whether you write op-ed pieces, novels, or beauty articles, I think there’s a little bit of something in this list for everyone.

1. Your writing will get edited (again and again and again) – Some editors will completely rework your writing, while others will just tweak some things here and there. Either way, don’t feel bad. It doesn’t mean that your writing is horrible and you will never work again and you’ll never achieve your dreams of becoming a New York Times bestseller. It just means that your editor saw something that they wanted to change, so they did. At my current job, my articles can go through 3 pairs of hands before getting posted.
2. Research and fact checking should be your best friend – There is nothing more annoying than researching for an hour for an article that’s only 2 paragrahs, but it has to be done. I hate reading articles with obviously wrong info, so make sure your article reflects the facts and figures of a situation/product/story.
giphy2
3. Know when to walk away – I rarely finish a piece of writing at once. I usually write, goof off, write some more, go watch some netflix, then finish my piece. this method works best for me, and i think it works best in life tbh. Break up the things that you have to do into smaller pieces instead of trying to write a 200-page novel at once.
4. Not everyone will like your stuff – Writing is very opinion based. You think your work is the best thing since Shakespeare, everyone else thinks it sucks (sorry). Especially in the age of the internet, it can be hard to get negative feedback on something that you’ve made. When it comes to criticism, see if you can take something constructive from it. If not, feel free to continue on with your fabulous work.
 giphy1
5. Keep learning – Don’t stop attending workshops, expanding your vocab, and trying out new techniques just because you’ve made it. There is always room for growth.
6. Let the story guide you – There have been countless times (including on this blog), where I have starting out writing one thing, and ended with a completely different story. Be adaptable, and let the story come out as it wants to.
7. Don’t be afraid to branch out – Most people have a niche/industry/genre that they work in. If you want to enter a different sphere, go for it! I’ve worked at a food site, an apartment rental site, and run this blog (which is just a mish mash of everything). The world is your oyster.
giphy3
Have anything else to add to the list? Comment below!
Xoxo,
Témi
Leave a Reply

