Review – Maybelline Master Precise Skinny Gel Pencil

As I mentioned in my Wet n Wild eyeliner review, I loveeeee a pencil gel liner on the bottom lid. When I was in high school, I used to ONLY line my bottom lid.

For the past couple of years, I’ve used the Maybelline Eye Studio Master Drama Cream Pencil Liner. I love it because I never have to worry about smudged liner or sweating it off. When I went to the store last week to buy a new one after I ran out, I was shocked to see that my beloved liner wasn’t there! It seems like Maybelline discontinued the liner, because I didn’t see it listed on their website when I went to check.

Heartbroken, but insistent on persevering, I decided to try a new Maybelline liner. I settled on the Master Precise Skinny Gel Pencil. It was gel, waterproof, and similar to my old favorite.

The first thing you need to know about this liner? It’s skinny. Like very skinny. I know it says that in the description, but I was a little surprised at how it leaves such a thin line. I decided to compare it to the Studio Drama gel liner. There’s a pretty big difference in the size of the tip.20160907_202641

But because the tip is so thin, this is a really good liner for the waterline, or anytime you want a more subtle look. Personally, I prefer a thicker line, but I can’t deny the staying power of this liner. I’ll work with it some more, and see if I can get a thicker line.

Some tips for this liner – Some people online have complained about the liner breaking. I haven’t experienced this at all, and I think the key is to keep the tip very short and only twist up when you need more product. Also, when I first bought it, I didn’t know how to twist it up. You twist up on the part between the pink and the very top: it kind of has a pattern on it so you’ll know where it is.

What’s your favorite eyeliner? Comment below!

Xoxo,

Témi

Leave a Reply

