Review – Witch Hazel

For the past couple of months, I’ve dealt with itching, acne, and an overall unpleasant texture on my face. I suspect this is due to a combination of my rather unhealthy skin care routine as of late (meaning I have no routine) and stress/anxiety. I’ve decided to totally revamp my skin care routine. I’ll buy face lotion (I use the same lotion for face and body, not good), a new cleanser, maybe a serum?, a toner, and a face mask.

I started off with the toner. For some reason I thought this would help with the itching and cleaning my pores. Toners are meant to cleanse the skin, shrink pores, and improve the texture of the skin. Also, it can help to get rid of any cleanser left on your face after washing, and it helps with the PH balance of the skin.
Instead of buying a traditional toner, I decided to buy witch hazel. Witch hazel is a plant, making it a a natural ingredient, which I was happy about. Witch hazel is a considered to be an astringent, which is just a stronger form of a toner.
Dickinson’s Witch Hazel is probably the most popular witch hazel on the market, but I bought the Studio 35 Witch Hazel because it was the only good option at Walgreens. The bottle is a really good size for the price, and with daily use should last you 2 or 3 months, and probably even more. The smell is kind of hard to place, but I like that. It smells clean and chemical free.
For the past week that I’ve been using the witch hazel, the texture of my skin looks better, and my skin feels cleaner at the end of the day. I got a pimple on my forehead while using the product, but witch hazel isn’t really meant to help with acne, so I didn’t mind. I’ll definitely keep using the witch hazel, and I’m sure my skin will look even better after I buy my other skin care products.
Do you use witch hazel? Comment below!
Xoxo,
Témi
4 thoughts on “Review – Witch Hazel

  1. Joyce Chen says:

    I’m currently using the Dickinson’s witch hazel toner, but I bought the Studio 35 toner for when my Dickinson’s runs out, since it’s a lot cheaper. I actually really like to use witch hazel for acne 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

