It’ll Be Ok & Other Lessons Millennials Should Know

Normally, I hate these kinds of posts about “THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW RIGHT NOW 1!1!”.They’re usually filled with pseudo-advice, with adages like “love yourself” and “take risks”. Those are things that people should do, yes, but I often finish reading these kinds of lists wanting more.

The shift from college years to post-grad life can be jarring for some, and smooth for others. Personally, my past year has been one of constant change, constant doubt, and constant worry about whether or not I’ll ever reach my goals. I’ve been trying to make an effort to think more positively, and stop worrying. This is what I’ve realized so far:
You’ll be fine without that job – The job market is crazy, and I TOTALLY agree that paying your bills is better than not having a job at all. But guess what? If you don’t take that job offer, another one will come along. It may take a month, or two, but it will come. Remember that when you’re faced with taking a job that you don’t really like
Money will come – Obviously, having money is directly related to being employed. Even though I am now at a paying internship, I still worry about money pretty much constantly. I always feel like I’m just a dollar away from being broke, which isn’t true. I definitely feel like this new generation has a different relationship with money than the previous one; the recession, massive student loans, and a generally bad economy has contributed to our financial anxiety. However, I just want you to know that things will work out. You may not be able to move into that $3,000 apartment downtown right now, but one day, you will.
It’s ok to be single – This has been said again and again but I think it needs to be said one more time. It’s ok to be single! I personally, think everyone should spend a couple of years single. Get to know yourself, what you like, who you are, what kind of life you want to live. You may not get another chance to move to Thailand for 6 months with no responsibilities. But with that being said…..
……It’s ok to be in relationship – While I do advocate for people to stay single for at least a little while in their 20s, I recognize that there are some people that want to be in a relationship, and there is nothing wrong with that.  For some reason, I see a lot of people telling others not to look for love, and that love will just come to you. I hate this! If you wanted a new jon, what should you do? Look for one! If you want to lose weight, you start working out. If you want to be in a relationship, there is absolutely nothing wrong with going out there and looking for it. The only thing I would say is, make sure you want to be in a relationship for the right reasons. Relationships can be great sources of love, support, and happiness. But make sure you’re not getting into a relationship because you think it’ll cure your depression or make your unhappiness with life go away. In order to be happy in a relationship, you need to be happy with yourself first.
Do you – Self expression is very important, but even after we’re out of school it can be hard to express ourselves the way we fully want to whether it be in dress or in beliefs. Life is too short to live life the way other people want us to, and you should let your freak flag (or conservative flag) fly.
Breathe – I just read an article on how millennials are “reporting the highest levels of clinical anxiety, stress, and depression than any other generation at the same age.” If you haven’t been feeling well mentally or emotionally, please see a therapist or psychiatrist. Maybe you’ll need to get on meds, maybe you’ll need to go therapy for the rest of your life, but that’s just fine! The most important thing is that you’re happy and healthy.
Not everyone will be your friend for life – One of the sad truths about life is that sometimes people just drift apart. There’s no fight, no big blow up, no screaming match. One person will just stop returning phone calls, you’ll stop hanging out as often, and soon it’ll be weeks or months since you’ve last seen them . You can fight for these friendships, but also try and realize when a relationship has run its course. Not everyone  is meant to be in the story of our lives forever. Additionally, every time I hear the word frenemy, I want to scream. Why should you have someone in your life that’s a part-time enemy? All of your friends should support you, love you, and contribute positively to your life. So, basically, kick any frenemies to the curb! Right now.
As I get older and get my life together (hopefully haha), I’m sure I will learn more lessons, and discover more truths about life. But for now, I’m glad for the information I have.
Have something you want to add? Comment below!
Xoxo,
Témi
Leave a Reply

