This Has No Title

Insecurity is a killer. It’ll make you feel unworthy, uncomfortable, and uncertain.

My 4 years in high school were not the happiest of times. I had friends, even boyfriends, but I was still kind of regarded as one of the uncool kids. When I went to college, it was like being in an alternate universe. I was wanted. People wanted to hang out with me, I was invited to places, people noticed when I wasn’t there. I had a great friend group and I looked great.

Then came college gradation. I remember sitting on my bed back in my parents’ house, still in my cap and gown and knowing that nothing would ever be the same. As I spent the following year trying to find a job, I lost friends and gained weight. Not a winning combination.

I didn’t realize how bad my insecurity issues were until I went bowling with my family one weekend. Every time I would go up to bowl, I would worry that the other people in the bowling alley were making fun of my body, my outfit, and the way I bowled. I realized I couldn’t go on this way; it wasn’t healthy and I wasn’t enjoying life the way I used to.

It’s definitely been a struggle to feel more confident, but here are some mantras/affirmations I plan to use to help myself get better.

  1. I am more than my outfit or how I look that day.
  2. Who I am as a person is more important than how I look.
  3. Anyone would be lucky to have you as a friend.
  4. Just because it isn’t happening right now doesn’t mean it never will.
  5. You are not a reflection of those who could not love you properly.
  6. Things will work out for you.
  7. Who you are is totally and completely up to you.

What tips and tricks do you guys use when you’re feeling less than confident?

Xoxo,

Témi

One thought on “This Has No Title

Leave a Reply

